REVIEW: Grass Jelly Drink Or The Chewable Syrup

I did not know you could drink grass...

I remember when I first heard about this strange drink. I saw one of my friends in high school drinking it and I was amazed that such drinks existed. Was there grass in it? Tiny chewy bits of grass? And then the picture…did she literally drink that jelly instead of chewing it up?

Definitely need a big bubble tea straw to suck up the jelly

What a strange concoction. Admittedly, I thought it’d be like sippable jello that was all mushed up like a smoothie, but the drink turns out to be a simple syrup with grass jelly chunks chopped up into almost swallowable sizes. Sweet, but not overly sweet, and what really strikes you is the interesting texture. Not that great at quenching your thirst, but it’s on par with coke quenching your thirst.

Simple and drinkable

Overall, something new and fun to try. If you like texture in your drink like bubble tea, then you will probably enjoy this drink too. If you’ve seen it, be brave and try a sip. It’s not going to kill you. 🙂

Rating: 😛 😛 😛 😛 for being not too sweet, not thirst-quenching, and perfect for those who are into texture in their food.

6 responses to “REVIEW: Grass Jelly Drink Or The Chewable Syrup

  1. I’ve found that various Asian drinks are sort of amazing! Recently I have been trying out different types for a school project and I didn’t pick up any with actual jello in it. I did get a few that were weirdly textured/had various food bits inside of them.Like the basil seed one was just ridiculous. It took me forever just to finish a can ’cause I was messing with the pieces of stuff inside. If you like playing with your food, I think Asian drinks are the only way to go! 🙂 http://adventuresinazianland.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/drinking-frog-eggs-does-not-make-frogs-in-your-tummy/

  2. Mmm…that looks good. I think I’ve seen it at the Asian markets, I will give it a try, thanks for the recommendation.

    • Definitely try it out. I’m always seeing random stuff like this at the Asian markets and wondering if things are good or not. Glad this helped and please let me know what you think of the drink. 🙂

  3. LOL, i practically grew up with this and truly enjoyed chewing those jello pieces. It makes thirst quenching that much more fun! i am glad you tried this too!

Leave a Reply

