Yes, I Will Marry You Ken’s Doughnuts, Love B.

The run-down looking doughnut shops always seem to be the yummiest ones.

I have long heard of and seen Ken’s Doughnuts as I’ve been going north on the Drag. It is a walkable distance from campus, though you best be careful of the many cars whizzing by and very wide road crossings. It looks a little run down, but you know it’s going to taste good when the place does not rely on looks alone. What makes Ken’s Doughnuts even more unique than other doughnut places is that it is a nice, family-run store with Indian pastries along with the doughnuts. Now presenting…Ken’s Doughnuts!

Cannot miss that pink elephant.

Now that it’s finals time and my last post until after finals are done (see you in a couple of weeks!), it’s the perfect time to let you know about a late-night eating spot in case you get midnight munchies while studying. What makes Ken’s Doughnuts so awesome is that it is open 24 hours! Or close enough with 6am to 5:30am hours, 7 days a week. I went with my friend around 11pm and doughnuts were still coming out along with fresh samosas. Also, 4am is apparently a good time for fresh doughnuts, but don’t ask me how I know. And if you don’t want to move from your room, consider Longhorn Delivery to fill your fried dough needs.

Oops, sorry. Cut off the top. :o

So not only is the place open late, but the prices are great too! $1 samosas that are a good snack size and doughnuts for less than a $1. My doughnut holes were only $1.50 for a dozen and that is equal to like two doughnuts with extra glazing. Low low prices and doughnuts that taste GOOD! Heck yes! :D

*crunch crunch* Yum!

Onto the food! First, the samosa was big, yummy, and warm. It was spicy, but in a good tasty way. The dough was just chewy enough with a lot of potatoes and warm spices inside. If you like samosas, you’ll probably like this one.

The amazing insides of a palak paneer and pretty big too.

My friend got the palak paneer. It had a similar dough to the samosa, but was a little less spicy and full of spinach and a special type of cheese called ‘paneer.’ It cost a little more than the samosa, but it was very yummy and definitely something we’d both get if we went again.

Ohh, delicious doughnuts, you make me hungry just looking at you. :P

Finally, the doughnuts. I am a Shipley’s Doughnuts fan and those are the type of doughnuts I like. No Krispy Kreme for me, sorry guys. If you like Shipley’s though, you’ll like Ken’s Doughnuts. These doughnuts have an airier texture and less cakey, though those are available as well. Bunch of varieties like bear’s claw and cinnamon twists are also there. I am a fan of the doughnut hole, however, and they were absolutely delicious. A little less chewy and more cakey than the usual doughnut holes I eat, but that made it much more substantial and still delicious. Next time, I am definitely trying some more varieties including the fritter. :P

Trying to imitate the art at the bottom of the Tower.

Late-night doughnut craving? Need something to eat after studying until 3 in the morning? Go to Ken’s Doughnuts and have delicious fresh breakfast pastry at any time of the day. Or ice cream. There is also a little ATM machine inside if you don’t have any cash and just want to make it easier on you. Prices are great and so are the food so you’ll enjoy lots on a college student budget.

Rating: :P :P :P :P :P for airy doughnut texture, a little run-down, and great prices.

4 responses to “Yes, I Will Marry You Ken’s Doughnuts, Love B.

  1. Oh and good luck with finals, see ya when ya done. :D

    • Congrats on losing weight! And thanks for the luck; I’ll need it. Hey, once in a while, it’s not so bad to eat a doughnut. :P

      • It was stress weight, so it wasn’t so bad to do. Actually I hadn’t had a doughnut in a few months, so one Krispy Kreme didn’t hurt me. If this is your first set of finals in college then you’ll be surprised how easy they can be. You tend to over study and the questions never seem as hard as you thought they would be. I’m sure you’ll do great. Hmm…I sort of miss college, maybe time for a Ph.D.?

  2. Aye Chica, your posts fill me with the desire to munch. I am steadily losing weight, since I left the last job (stress=weight gain). Now I think I deserve a doughnut as a treat. Mmmm….wish I was in Texas….

Leave a Reply

